» » Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns - Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns

Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns - Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns album download

Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns - Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns album download Performer: Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns
Album: Ryan Mcphun And The Ruby Suns
Country: Europe
Released: 2005
Size MP3: 1856 mb.
Size FLAC: 1707 mb.
Rating: 4.5/5
Votes: 328
Other Formats: AUD AU AIFF MP1 MOD MP3 VOC

Having already established his Beach Boys fascination with 2005's self-titled debut, Ryan McPhun reached into his travel journals for Sea Lion, spiking the Ruby Suns' pop/psychedelia with ample amounts of African, Polynesian, and Kenyan instrumentation. The resulting album follows the recent paths of Yeasayer and Vampire Weekend by finding some middle ground between indie pop and world music. Sea Lion is an aural melting pot, with ukuleles and sun-baked singalongs sharing space alongside '80s-styled electronica and programmed percussion

Such is the case with Ryan McPhun, whose third album under the Ruby Suns moniker is essentially a solo effort. 80. I think of The Ruby Suns and I think of sunshine and good times

The Ruby Suns are an indie/pop group from New Zealand. They formed in 2004 when Californian Ryan McPhun moved to Auckland and started playing in several bands such as The Brunettes, The Tokey Tones, and The Reduction Agents. The Ruby Suns are signed to Lil' Chief Records in New Zealand and Memphis Industries in Britain

His self-titled album takes equal levels of inspiration from the modern indie DIY approach and the grandiose productions of the 60s and 70s. The songs focus on a peculiar range of subjects, which stretches from Ryan& prevarication about which shipping company to use on, & Out Sos!& to the empathetic story of a lone Kenyan zebra in & Mara& or the amalgamation of a skateboard wheel and a non-electric vacuum cleaner on & Pt. amp; The Washington.

Find the latest tracks, albums, and images from The Ruby Suns. Fight Softly' is the third album by New Zealand's pop masters The Ruby Suns.

The Ruby Suns is the first full-length album released by the New Zealand based band The Ruby Suns. The band was originally called Ryan McPhun & The Ruby Suns and the album was released with this title in New Zealand on Lil' Chief Records. The album has subsequently been released in the UK on Memphis Industries in 2006 and in Australia on Popfrenzy in 2007 with different art, and the title truncated to reflect the band's new name.


1 Trees Like Kids 1:21
2 Sleep In The Garden 1:44
3 Maasai Mara 3:07
4 Look Out SOS! 4:05
5 Function Of The Sun 1:11
6 It's Hard To Let You Know 3:54
7 Criterion 4:43
8 Birthday On Mars 4:52
9 Trepidation Part One 1:21
10 Trepidation Part Two 3:30
11 My Tenyears On Auto-Pilot 4:36
12 There's Soup At The End Of The Tunnel 2:56


  • Songwriter, Performer – Ryan Mcphun
  • Vocals – Garet Shute, James Mine, Mark Stebben
  • Vocals, Alto Recorder, Percussion, Harmonium, Melodica – Amee Robinson


Recorded Sept'03 - March'05.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
MI1044212 The Ruby Suns The Ruby Suns ‎(CD, Album) Memphis Industries MI1044212 Europe 2006
MI1044212P The Ruby Suns The Ruby Suns ‎(CD, Album, Promo) Memphis Industries MI1044212P Europe 2006
PF062 The Ruby Suns The Ruby Suns ‎(CD, Album) Popfrenzy Records PF062 Australia & New Zealand 2006
MIO80CD The Ruby Suns The Ruby Suns ‎(CD, Album) Memphis Industries MIO80CD Europe 2006