» » The Magnetic Fields - 69 Love Songs Vol. 1

The Magnetic Fields - 69 Love Songs Vol. 1 album download

The Magnetic Fields - 69 Love Songs Vol. 1 album download Performer: The Magnetic Fields
Album: 69 Love Songs Vol. 1
Country: Canada
Released: 1999
Style: Synth-pop, Indie Rock
Size MP3: 1234 mb.
Size FLAC: 1689 mb.
Rating: 4.5/5
Votes: 804

69 Love Songs is the sixth studio album by American indie pop band the Magnetic Fields, released on September 7, 1999 by Merge Records. As its title indicates, 69 Love Songs is a three-volume concept album composed of 69 love songs, all written by Magnetic Fields frontman Stephin Merritt. The album was originally conceived as a music revue

69 songs equals 3 CDs equals nearly three solid hours of new Magnetic Fields material- think of it! That's more than some notable bands released in their entire existence. You see, I have this theory that music critics are suckers for novelty, and there isn't much in this world that's more novel than 69 Love Songs.

The first volume of The Magnetic Fields' monumental masterpiece 69 Love Songs, and the one you’re least likely to skip through. The track listing was decided by a randomizer, but I’ll be damned if most of the best songs didn’t end up on this third. It contains the most famous song Stephin Merritt ever wrote: The Book of Love, which has been elevated to the status of pop standard  . However, Merritt realized that nobody would sit through 100 songs, so he settled for the much more evocative 69. The album was released in 1999 on Merge Records. 69 Love Songs, Volume One Q&A.

It includes: (Special 69 Love Songs Book, + 69 Love Songs Vo., Vo. and Vo. CDs). Other Versions (5 of 11) View All. Cat.

Album · 1999 · 69 Songs. 69 Songs, 2 Hours 52 Minutes. 69 Love Songs The Magnetic Fields. Listen on Apple Music.

Band Name The Magnetic Fields. Album Name 69 Love Songs. Erscheinungsdatum 07 September 1999. Labels Merge Records. Musik GenreIndie Rock. Mitglieder die dieses Album besitzen1. DISC 1. 1. Absolutely Cuckoo. 2. I Don't Believe in the Sun.

The Magnetic Fields ’ three-disc album 69 Love Songs is a staggering achievement, a cultural landmark, a monument to romantic, yet urbane misery. Calling it a concept album seems inadequate. At once theatrical and literary, it’s a dazzling kaleidoscope of pop and Americana, a pageant of queer (or at least sexually ambiguous) and not-that-queer heartbreak, with occasional flurries of happiness. The album is an overwhelming text on its own and more still has been written about it, but an album like this demands a thorough inventory, the kind that can only be done one song at a time. The challenge, of course, is that this three-disc album contains a much higher percentage of great songs than most albums of more standard length. But we are not afraid.

The Magnetic Fields are the project of Stephin Merritt. He writes, produces, plays the instruments, and sings on most of the songs. He relies heavily on synth-pop, with influences from such bands as Kraftwerk, Roxy Music, Eno, and Gary Numan. Merritt does sing on many of the songs, but he also employs various alternative rock singers to handle lead vocals on some of the songs. The 69 songs clock in at a bit under 3 hours, so most of them only are 2 to 3 minutes long. This is obviously a gimmick album (he has another called i where every song title starts with the letter "i", et., but that doesn't mean that there aren't great songs on it. Absolutely Cuckoo The album begins with a shining little pop song, a nice catchy melody and hook. There is a repetitive guitar riff and the vocals that really drive the song. Not much synth here, just a simple song.


1 Absolutely Cuckoo 1:34
2 I Don't Believe In The Sun 4:16
3 All My Little Words 2:46
4 A Chicken With Its Head Cut Off 2:41
5 Reno Dakota 1:05
6 I Don't Want To Get Over You 2:22
7 Come Back From San Francisco 2:48
8 The Luckiest Guy On The Lower East Side 3:43
9 Let's Pretend We're Bunny Rabbits 2:25
10 The Cactus Where Your Heart Should Be 1:11
11 I Think I Need A New Heart 2:32
12 The Book Of Love 2:42
13 Fido, Your Leash Is Too Long 2:33
14 How Fucking Romantic 0:58
15 The One You Really Love 2:53
16 Punk Love 0:58
17 Parades Go By 2:56
18 Boa Constrictor 0:58
19 A Pretty Girl Is Like... 1:50
20 My Sentimental Melody 3:07
21 Nothing Matters When We're Dancing 2:27
22 Sweet-Lovin' Man 4:59
23 The Things We Did And Didn't Do 2:11


  • Producer – Stephin Merritt

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
MRG 166 The Magnetic Fields 69 Love Songs Vol. 1 ‎(CD, Album) Merge Records MRG 166 Canada 1999